Founding of the Red Lake Mining District, The

In 1924, two years after a discovery of gold by Gus McManus, the Ontario Department of Mines published a geological report on this district. Prospecting was thus encouraged, and in 1925 claims were staked by Lorne Howey and George McNeely. Financed through the efforts of Jack Hammell, Howey Gold Mines was incorporated in 1926, and production began in 1930. Although it ceased operations in 1941, successful mines were developed elsewhere within this region by other organizations, and by the end of 1961, gold valued at over $200,000,000 had been extracted from the Red Lake district. A unique feature in this isolated region's early development was the extensive use of year-round aerial transportation.


At the junction of Highways 105 and 125, southeast of Red Lake

Region: Northern Ontario

County/District: District of Kenora

Municipality: Municipality of Red Lake