Gillies Bros. Lumbering Firm, The

This firm was begun in 1873 when James, William, John and David Gillies purchased a steam sawmill here on the Ottawa River at Braeside. Building on the experience acquired by their father, John Gillies, who had begun lumbering in Lanark County in 1842, they had established themselves by the mid 1880s as one of the Ottawa Valley's large lumber producers. This position was maintained partly by the involvement of succeeding generations in the management of the firm and by careful acquisition and exploitation of timber limits. In the twentieth century, despite the exhaustion of stands of virgin pine and pressures to diversify, Gillies continued almost exclusively to manufacture pine. In 1963, the firm was sold to the Consolidated Paper Corporation, ending 90 years of family ownership.


In front of the Gillies Brothers and Company Mill, River Road, northwest of Arnprior

Region: Eastern Ontario

County/District: County of Renfrew

Municipality: Town of Arnprior