Robinson Superior Treaty, The

On September 7, 1850, a treaty was concluded at Sault Ste. Marie between the Hon. W.B. Robinson, representing the government, and nine Ojibwa chiefs and head men. Under its terms, the Ojibwa surrendered territory extending some 400 miles along the shore of Lake Superior, from Batchawana Bay to the Pigeon River, and northward to the height of land delimiting the Great Lakes drainage area. In return, the Indians were allotted three reserves, a cash settlement and a further small annual payment. The Fort William reserve, assigned to Chief Joseph Peau de Chat and his band, was laid out in 1854 by J.W. Bridgeland, P.L.S., substantially as it is today.


In Chippewa Park, at the southern approach to Thunder Bay

Region: Northern Ontario

County/District: District of Thunder Bay

Municipality: City of Thunder Bay