Royal Canadian Yacht Club, The

The province's first sailing association, the Toronto Boat Club, was formed in 1852 and two years later became the Royal Canadian Yacht Club. Dedicated to the promotion of yachting and naval interests, it initiated competitions that stimulated widespread interest in sailing and yacht design, and in 1860, instituted the Prince of Wales Cup, freshwater racing's oldest trophy. The Club was housed on Toronto's waterfront until 1881 when it moved to Toronto Island. This move facilitated the Club's continued growth. The R.C.Y.C. figures prominently in the formation of the Lake Yacht Racing Association (1884) for the establishment of uniform rules. The achievements of numerous members in competitive yacht racing have brought the Royal Canadian Yacht Club international recognition.


In front of the entrance to the club's summer quarters, Chippewa Avenue, Toronto Islands, Toronto

Region: Greater Toronto Area

County/District: City of Toronto (District)

Municipality: City of Toronto