Umfreville's Exploration 1784

A fur trader, Edward Umfreville, passed here in July 1784. He had been commissioned by the North West Company to discover an alternative to the traditional canoe route to the West via the Grand Portage and Pigeon River, which had come under American control. Leaving Lake Superior, he ascended the Nipigon River and struck westward from Lake Nipigon via an intricate course that included the Wabinosh River, Sturgeon Lake, Lac Seul and the English River. He reached the junction of the English and Winnipeg rivers on July 23. Umfreville's favourable opinion of this route was not shared by the Nor'Westers, who ultimately adopted the long-disused Kaministiquia route, rediscovered in 1798 by Roderick McKenzie.


In McKenzie Park, Highway 72, about 5 km south of Sioux Lookout

Region: Northern Ontario

County/District: District of Kenora

Municipality: Municipality of Sioux Lookout