Built in 1910 for the Temiskaming and Northern Ontario Railway, the Cobalt Station is associated with the early development of rail transportation and settlement in northern Ontario.

Designed by prominent Toronto architect John M. Lyle, the station is a long, low one-and-a-half-storey brick building with a broad overhanging hipped roof supported by large wooden brackets. The impressive roof is pierced by pedimented dormers and a central block Flemish gable that breaks the roofline and signifies the main entrance as well as the former station master’s office. The interior boasts massive timber roof trusses and a wooden ceiling. Typical of railway stations built during the first quarter of the 20th century, the station exhibits elements of the Arts and Crafts and Tudor Revival styles. Located along the waterfront in the downtown core, the Cobalt Station is a local landmark.

In 1979, the Town of Cobalt designated the station under the Ontario Heritage Act and, in 1993, the Ontario Heritage Trust secured a heritage easement on the building.