Menu

Ontario's sports timeline




11,000 to 85,000 years ago

Wisconsinan glaciation was the most recent advance of the North American glaciers. It marked the last glaciers that receded from southern Ontario.



Anthropologists believe that people first migrated from Central Asia and Russia over the Bering Strait to Canada by the use of snowshoes. (Snowshoes, from the Ontario Heritage Trust Collection, Homewood Museum, Maitland, Ontario.)



1,400 to 1,200 years ago

Ontario Iroquoian people began to farm the “three sisters:” corn, beans and squash.



900 to 1,200 years ago

Aborginal peoples left pictographs and petroglyph images of canoes on rocks in the Peterborough area and parts of northern Ontario.



1615

Étienne Brûlé, a French explorer, led the way into Ontario for Samuel de Champlain. He travelled along the Ottawa, Mattawa and French rivers to reach Georgian Bay and Huronia.



1637

Jesuit Missionary Jean de Brébeuf (1593-1649) witnessed the Iroquois playing lacrosse. He was the first to record the game and described the sometimes brutal sport as a spiritual game. (Lacrosse stick and ball, Anishnaabe (Ojibwa). Lac Seul Reserve,Ontario. Wood and animal hide. Photo courtesy of the Canadian Museum of History collection. III-G-359 a,b, D2002-013530)



1670

The Hudson’s Bay Company began trading in lands that would become Ontario.



1791

The British province of Upper Canada was established, which generally comprised southern Ontario.



September 1793

Elizabeth Simcoe, wife of Lieutenant Governor John Graves Simcoe, informally inaugurated horse racing on a straight track located on Toronto Island. (Opening day at Woodbine Racetrack, 1926. Photo courtesy of the City of Toronto Archives.)



1812-14

The War of 1812, fought between the United States and Britain, included several significant battles on Ontario soil.



1820

The first curling club in Ontario – the Royal Kingston Curling Club – is formed. (Curling in Toronto’s High Park, 1913. Credit: John Boyd. Photo courtesy of the Archives of Ontario.)



1837

The rebellion in Upper and Lower Canada led to the passing of the Act of Union in 1840.



June 1838

Baseball is played for the first time in Beachville, Ontario (between Oxford and Zorra townships). Back then, the game featured five bases, players used a hand-hewn stick as a bat, and the ball was made of twisted yarn covered in calf skin. (Guelph vs. Hamilton, 1902. Photo courtesy of the Guelph Public Library Archives, F38-0-15-0-0-292.)



July 1, 1867

Canadian Confederation. The provinces of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick formed the Dominion of Canada. John A. Macdonald was the first Prime Minister.



September 1867

At a lacrosse convention held in Kingston, the rules were codified and the National Lacrosse Association was formed. (Canadian Olympic lacrosse team, 1908. Photo courtesy of Library and Archives Canada.)



1872  

Governor General Lord Dufferin added a toboggan slide at Rideau Hall for the public to enjoy. (The Toboggan Party, Rideau Hall. Illuminated composite photograph from the personal album of Lady Dufferin, c. 1872-75. Photo courtesy of Library and Archives Canada.)



October 1873

Toronto Argonauts Football Club played their first game against the Hamilton Tigers. (Hamilton Tigers team photograph, 1906. Photo courtesy of the Hamilton Public Library.)



1875

Niagara-on-the-Lake Golf Club was founded by John Gaele Dickson. (Josephine Fulford and friends golfing. Ontario Heritage Trust Collection, Fulford Place, Brockville, Ontario.



1881

The first Canadian Tennis Open Championships were held at the Toronto Lawn Tennis Club. (Man with racket, c. 1880s-1900. Ontario Heritage Trust Collection, Homewood Museum, Maitland, Ontario.)



1889

The first official women’s hockey game was played in Ottawa. The Government House team defeated the Rideau ladies team. (Girls’ hockey team, c. 1900s. Credit: George Irwin. Photo courtesy of the Archives of Ontario.)



December 1891

Dr. James Naismith invents the game of basketball, nailing two peach basket to the gym balconies at the International YMCA training school. He published 13 rules for the game in the school’s newspaper The Triangle. (Dr. James Naismith holding a basketball, standing beside two peach baskets (goals), c. 1930s. Photo courtesy of the Kansas University Archives.)



1893

Governor General Lord Stanley donated a trophy to the emerging sport of hockey. Ottawa was the first Ontario team to win the Stanley Cup in 1903. (Playing Hockey on the St. Clair River in Sarnia. Credit: John Boyd. Photo courtesy of the Archives of Ontario.)



1900

George Orton of Strathroy, Ontario, won a gold medal at the Paris Olympics in 1900 in the 2,500-metre steeplechase for the United States before Canada had an Olympic team. (George Washington Orton (1873-1958) winning his Olympic gold medal, July 1900. Photo courtesy of the University of Pennsylvania Archives.)



1904  

The Minto Skating Club is founded in Ottawa. Its patrons were Lord Minto, Governor General of Canada, and the Countess of Minto. It is now the oldest skating club in Ontario. (Lord and Lady Minto with a group in front of the Ice Palace, Ottawa, March 1904. Photo courtesy of Library and Archives Canada.)



1909

Five-pin bowling was invented by Thomas Ryan in his Toronto pool hall after complaints of the weight of 10-pin balls.



1909

The first Grey Cup was played at Toronto’s Rosedale Field. (The First Grey Cup – December 4, 1909. Photo courtesy of The Globe and Mail.)



May 24, 1913

At 56-1 odds of winning, three-year-old Rockspring of Hamilton placed 9th in the King’s Plate at Woodbine Park. He had six career wins before he became a warhorse in the First World War. Watch a video from the 154th Queen’s Plate in tribute to Rockspring here.



August 4, 1914

Great Britain declared war on Germany. Canada, as part of the British Empire, was drawn into the conflict of the First World War.



September 1914

Legendary baseball player Babe Ruth hits his first home run in professional baseball at Maple Leaf Park, near Hanlan’s Point. He was a
19-year-old rookie playing for the Providence Grays. (Toronto baseball team, c. 1910. Hanlan’s Point Stadium. Photo courtesy of the City of Toronto Archives.)



1919

The Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) donated the OHA Memorial Cup in remembrance of all the soldiers who died in the First World War.



February 1923

Foster Hewitt did his first live radio hockey broadcast at the Arena Gardens (Mutual Street Arena) in Toronto.



1926

Maple Leaf Stadium was built in Toronto and witnessed a winning year of baseball. The Toronto Maple Leafs won the Junior World Series, defeating the Louisville Colonels 5-0. (Baseball game at Toronto’s Maple Leaf Stadium. Photo courtesy of the City of Toronto Archives.)



1927

Guelph Elastic Hosiery added a hard cup to the jockstrap for extra protection. It was sold for years under the name Protex. (Guelph Elastic Hosiery Ltd., c. 1920s. Photo courtesy of the Guelph Public Library Archives, F38-0-7-0-0-84.)



October 29, 1929

Black Tuesday occurred – triggering the stock market collapse that led to the Great Depression of the 1930s.



August 1930

Hamilton was host to the first Commonwealth Games (then known as the British Empire Games). Eleven countries sent 400 athletes to participate in 59 events. (Canadian Percy Williams winning the 100-yard dash at the British Empire Games in Hamilton, 1930. Photo courtesy of the Hamilton Public Library.)



November 1931

Maple Leaf Gardens opened with its first hockey game between the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Chicago Blackhawks. Over 13,000 people were in attendance.



December 11, 1931

Through the Statute of Westminster, an act of Parliament of the United Kingdom, Canada became its own free dominion separate from Great Britain.



August 16, 1933

The Christie Pits riots occurred following a softball game at Willowdale Park between the St. Peter’s baseball team and the Harbord Playground, a predominantly Jewish team. Nazi sympathizers unveiled at the park a large sheet that had a swastika on it, causing uproar among the young, Jewish men. Hundreds fought in and around the park for six hours. (Willowdale Park baseball game, May 1922. Photo courtesy of the City of Toronto Archives.)



1938

Herbert Carnegie was denied a chance to play in the National Hockey League due to the colour of his skin. Conn Smythe would have considered signing Carnegie to the Toronto Maple Leafs if it were not for the race barrier that existed then in professional hockey. (Herbert Carnegie, Quebec Aces, c. 1949-53. Photo courtesy of the Multicultural Society of Ontario. BLA-200511-1516.)



September 10, 1939 to September 2, 1945

Canada declared war on Nazi Germany and joined the Second World War, alongside its ally Great Britain.



November 1946

The first game of the first season of the National Basketball Association (NBA) was played at Maple Leaf Gardens between Toronto and New York. (NBA basketball game, Maple Leaf Gardens, January 1946. Photo courtesy of the City of Toronto Archives.)



November 1952

Hockey Night in Canada made its national television debut on the CBC with a game between the Toronto Maple Leafs and the Boston Bruins. Foster Hewitt was the first English broadcaster. (Hockey Night in Canada. Photo courtesy of the CBC Still Photo Collection. Credit: Robert Ragsdale.)



July 1, 1958

The Trans-Canada microwave system was completed. It was the largest system in the world at the time.



1964

Northern Dancer, owned by Toronto’s E.P Taylor, became the first Canadian-bred and -owned horse to win the Kentucky Derby.



February 15, 1965

The national flag of Canada was introduced to replace the Union Jack. The new design featured a red field with a white square centre containing a large red maple leaf in the middle.



June 1969

The first Special Olympics event was held in Toronto, with 1,400 participants from across Canada.



September 28, 1972

Team Canada defeated the Soviet Union in the Summit Series, with Paul Henderson scoring the winning goal – with only 34 seconds left in the game.



1976

Ottawa's Sue Holloway became the first Canadian athlete to compete in both the Summer and Winter Olympic Games in the same year for cross-country ski relay and canoe racing. (Sue Holloway, 1976 Summer Olympics in Montreal. Photo courtesy of the Canadian Olympic Committee.)



April 7, 1977

The Toronto Blue Jay’s first game at Exhibition Stadium in Toronto against the Chicago White Sox to a cheering crowd of 44,649 fans was won by the Jays 9-5. (Toronto Baseball Stadium, c. 1977. Photo courtesy of the City of Toronto Archives.)



1982

Canada’s Constitution Act was signed by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II and Prime Minister Pierre Elliott Trudeau. With it came the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.



1982

Toronto’s Carling Bassett was the only Canadian to have broken into the top 10 singles on the professional tennis tour during the century. (Carling Bassett. Photo courtesy of Tennis Canada.)



1984

Canadian swimmers Alex Baumann and Victor Davis both won gold medals in swimming at the 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles. Baumann, the flag bearer for the Games, won gold in the men’s 200-metre individual medley and a gold in the men’s 400-metre medley. Davis won a gold medal in the men’s 200-metre breaststroke. (Alex Baumann, 1984 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles. Photo courtesy of the Canadian Olympic Committee.)



1992

The Toronto Blue Jays won the World Series, defeating the Atlanta Braves 4-3, to become the first team to win a World Series title outside the United States. It was also a team record season with 96 wins and 66 losses. The Toronto Blue Jays won again in 1993.



1993

Paul Tracy of Scarborough won the Toronto Molson Indy car race. He also won again in 2003. Watch Tracy win the race here.



Summer 2015

Toronto will be host to the TORONTO 2015 Pan Am and Parapan Am Games, the world’s third-largest international multisport Games.

Menu

Chronologie sportive de l'Ontario




Entre il y a 11 000 et 85 000 ans

La glaciation du Wisconsin est la plus récente avancée des glaciers en Amérique du Nord. Le retrait des derniers glaciers a modelé le paysage du Sud de l’Ontario.



Entre il y a 10 000 et 16 000 ans

Les anthropologues estiment que des peuples initialement partis d’Asie centrale et de Russie ont regagné le Canada par le détroit de Béring en utilisant des raquettes à neige. (Snowshoes, from the Ontario Heritage Trust Collection, Homewood Museum, Maitland, Ontario.)



Entre il y a 1 200 et 1 400 ans

Les Iroquois de l’Ontario commencent à cultiver les « trois sœurs » : le maïs, les haricots et les courges.



Entre il y a 900 et 1 200 ans

Des peuples autochtones laissent des pictogrammes et des pétroglyphes représentant des canots sur des rochers situés dans la région de Peterborough et dans certaines régions du Nord de l’Ontario.



1615

L’explorateur français Étienne Brûlé guide Samuel de Champlain en Ontario. Il emprunte la rivière des Outaouais, la rivière Mattawa et la rivière des Français pour rejoindre la baie Georgienne et la Huronie.



1637

Le missionnaire jésuite Jean de Brébeuf (1593-1649) observe les Iroquois jouer à la crosse. Il est le premier à faire mention du jeu et qualifie ce sport parfois brutal de jeu spiritual. (Bâton et balle de jeu de crosse. Anishnaabe (otchipwe). Réserve du Lac Seul, Ontario. Bois et cuir. Avec l’aimable autorisation du Musée canadien de l’histoire.)



1670

La Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson commence à faire du commerce sur des terres qui formeront ensuite l’Ontario.



1791

La province britannique du Haut-Canada est fondée et comprend généralement le Sud de l’Ontario actuel.



Septembre 1793

Elizabeth Simcoe, l’épouse du lieutenant-gouverneur John Graves Simcoe, inaugure de manière officieuse une course de chevaux sur une piste en ligne droite située sur l’île de Toronto. (Jour d’inauguration à l’hippodrome de Woodbine, 1926. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la Ville de Toronto.)



1812-1814

Au cours de la guerre de 1812, qui oppose les États-Unis et la Grande-Bretagne, plusieurs batailles importantes se déroulent sur le sol ontarien.



1820

Le premier club de curling de l’Ontario, le Royal Kingston Curling Club, ouvre ses portes. (Partie de curling à High Park, Toronto, 1913. Photographe : John Boyd. Photographie fournie par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario.)



1837

La rébellion dans le Haut-Canada et le Bas-Canada aboutit à l’adoption de l’Acte d’Union en 1840.



Juin 1838

La toute première partie de baseball se joue à Beachville, en Ontario (entre les cantons d’Oxford et de Zorra). À l’époque, le jeu compte cinq bases, une pièce de bois taillée à la main fait office de bâton, et la balle est faite de fil retors recouvert d’une peau de veau. (Guelph contre Hamilton, 1902. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la bibliothèque publique de Guelph, F38-0-15-0-0-292.)



1er juillet 1867

Confédération du Canada. Les provinces de l’Ontario, du Québec, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick s’unissent pour former le Dominion du Canada. John A. Macdonald est le premier des premiers ministres canadiens.



Septembre 1867

Au cours d’un congrès de crosse organisé à Kingston, les règles du jeu sont codifiées et l’Association nationale de crosse est mise sur pied. (Équipe olympique canadienne de crosse, 1908. Photographie fournie par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.)



1872  

Le gouverneur général lord Dufferin installe à Rideau Hall une piste de luge ouverte au public. (Groupe de personnes à la piste de luge, Rideau Hall. Photographie composite éclairée tirée de l’album personnel de lady Dufferin, v. 1872-1875. Photographie fournie par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.)



Octobre 1873

L’équipe de football des Argonauts de Toronto joue son premier match contre les Tigers de Hamilton. (Photographie de l’équipe des Tigers de Hamilton, 1906. Photographie fournie par la bibliothèque publique de Hamilton.)



1875

Le club de golf de Niagara-on-the-Lake est fondé par John Gaele Dickson. (Josephine Fulford et ses amis en train de jouer au golf. Collection de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, Place Fulford, Brockville, Ontario.)



1881

Les premiers championnats ouverts de tennis du Canada se déroulent au Toronto Lawn Tennis Club. (Homme avec une raquette, années 1880-1900. Collection de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, musée Homewood, Maitland, Ontario.)



1889

Le tout premier match de hockey féminin officiel a lieu à Ottawa. L’équipe Government House bat l’équipe féminine de Rideau. (Équipe féminine de hockey, années 1900. Photographe : George Irwin. Photographie fournie par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario.)



Décembre 1891

James Naismith invente le jeu du basketball, après avoir cloué deux paniers à pêches sur les balcons du gymnase de l’International YMCA Training School. Il publie 13 règles du jeu dans le journal de l’école, The Triangle. (James Naismith tenant un ballon de basketball, à côté de deux paniers à pêches (servant de buts), années 1930. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de l'Université du Kansas.)



1893

Le gouverneur général lord Stanley fait don d’un trophée à décerner à la meilleure équipe de hockey, sport qui connaît alors un plein essor. L’équipe d’Ottawa est la première équipe ontarienne à remporter la Coupe Stanley en 1903. (Partie de hockey sur la rivière Sainte-Claire à Sarnia. Photographe : John Boyd. Photographie fournie par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario.)



1900

Originaire de Strathroy, en Ontario, George Orton remporte une médaille d’or aux Jeux olympiques de Paris à l’épreuve du 2 500 mètres steeple sous les couleurs des États-Unis, avant que le Canada ait sa propre équipe olympique. (George Washington Orton (1873-1958) remportant sa médaille d’or olympique, juillet 1900. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de l’Université de Pennsylvanie.)



1904  

Le Minto Skating Club est fondé à Ottawa. Lord Minto, gouverneur général du Canada, et la comtesse de Minto comptent parmi les habitués. Il s’agit aujourd’hui du plus ancien club de patinage de l’Ontario. (Lord et lady Minto, accompagnés d’un groupe de personnes devant le Palais des glaces, Ottawa, mars 1904. Photographie fournie par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada.)



1909

Le jeu des cinq quilles est inventé par Thomas Ryan dans sa salle de billard à Toronto après que des joueurs se furent plaints du poids des boules du jeu à dix quills.



1909

Le premier match de la Coupe Grey a lieu au Rosedale Field à Toronto. (Première Coupe Grey, disputée le 4 décembre 1909. Avec l’aimable autorisation du Globe and Mail.)



24 mai 1913

Alors que ses chances de l’emporter étaient de 56 contre 1, le cheval Rockspring de Hamilton, âgé de trois ans, termine 9e lors de la course du Trophée du roi au parc Woodbine. Comptant six victoires à son actif, il est ensuite utilisé comme cheval de bataille au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale. (Cliquez ici pour regarder une vidéo de la course du 154e Trophée de la reine organisée en hommage à Rockspring.)



4 août 1914

La Grande-Bretagne déclare la guerre à l’Allemagne. Le Canada, membre de l’Empire britannique, est ainsi entraîné dans la Première Guerre mondiale.



Septembre 1914

Le légendaire joueur de baseball Babe Ruth frappe son tout premier circuit en match professionnel au Maple Leaf Park, près de Hanlan’s Point. Cette nouvelle recrue âgée d’à peine 19 ans joue sous les couleurs des Grays de Providence. (Équipe de baseball de Toronto, v. 1910. Stade de Hanlan’s Point. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la Ville de Toronto.)



1919

L’Ontario Hockey Association (OHA) fait don de la coupe Memorial de l’OHA en mémoire de tous les soldats morts lors de la Première Guerre mondiale.



Février 1923

Foster Hewitt fait sa première émission de hockey en direct à la radio depuis l’Arena Gardens (aujourd’hui le Mutual Street Arena) à Toronto.



1926

Le Maple Leaf Stadium est construit à Toronto et connaît une année de baseball remplie de victoires. Les Maple Leafs de Toronto remportent la Série mondiale junior en battant les Colonels de Louisville 5 à 0. (Match de baseball au Maple Leaf Stadium de Toronto. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la Ville de Toronto.)



1927

L’entreprise Guelph Elastic Hosiery ajoute une coque rigide au suspensoir pour une meilleure protection. Le modèle est vendu pendant des années sous le nom de Protex. (Guelph Elastic Hosiery Ltd., autour des années 1920. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la bibliothèque publique de Guelph, F38-0-7-0-0-84.)



29 octobre 1929

Les marchés boursiers s’effondrent lors du « mardi noir », entraînant ainsi la Grande Crise des années 1930.



Août 1930

Hamilton accueille les premiers Jeux du Commonwealth (alors appelés les Jeux de l’Empire britannique). Onze pays envoient 400 athlètes qui participent à 59 événements. (Le Canadien Percy Williams remportant la course de vitesse de 100 verges aux Jeux de l’Empire britannique à Hamilton, 1930. Photographie fournie par la bibliothèque publique de Library.)



Novembre 1931

Le Maple Leaf Gardens ouvre ses portes et accueille, pour l’occasion, un match de hockey opposant les Maple Leafs de Toronto aux Blackhawks de Chicago. Plus de 13 000 spectateurs sont presents.



11 décembre 1931

Par le Statut de Westminster, une loi du Parlement britannique, le Canada devient un dominion autonome et séparé de la Grande-Bretagne.



16 août 1933

Les émeutes de Christie Pits surviennent après un match de softball au parc Willowdale entre l’équipe de baseball de St. Peter et l’équipe de Harbord Playground, composée principalement de joueurs juifs. Des sympathisants nazis déploient dans le parc une grande bannière arborant une croix gammée, ce qui suscite la colère des jeunes hommes juifs. Des centaines de personnes se battent dans le parc et dans les rues avoisinantes pendant six heures. (Match de baseball au parc Willowdale, mai 1922. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la Ville de Toronto.)



1938

Herbert Carnegie se voit refuser la possibilité de jouer dans la Ligue nationale de hockey en raison de sa couleur de peau. Conn Smythe aurait envisagé de recruter Herbert Carnegie au sein des Maple Leafs de Toronto si le monde du hockey professionnel n’exerçait pas à l’époque une discrimination fondée sur la race. (Herbert Carnegie, Quebec Aces, c. 1949-53. Photo courtesy of the Multicultural Society of Ontario. BLA-200511-1516.)



Du 10 septembre 1939 au 2 septembre 1945

Le Canada déclare la guerre à l’Allemagne nazie et prend part à la Seconde Guerre mondiale aux côtés de son allié la Grande-Bretagne.



Novembre 1946

Le premier match de la première saison de la National Basketball Association (NBA) se joue au Maple Leaf Gardens entre Toronto et New York. (Match de basketball de la NBA, Maple Leaf Gardens, janvier 1946. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la Ville de Toronto.)



Novembre 1952

L’émission « Hockey Night in Canada » (l’équivalent anglophone de « La Soirée du hockey ») fait ses débuts à la télévision nationale sur la chaîne CBC en diffusant un match opposant les Maple Leafs de Toronto aux Bruins de Boston. Foster Hewitt est le premier communicateur anglophone. (Émission « Hockey Night in Canada ». Photographie tirée de la collection de photographies de la Société Radio-Canada. Photographe : Robert Ragsdale.)



1er juillet 1958

Le réseau à micro-ondes transcanadien est achevé. Il s’agit à l’époque du plus vaste réseau dans le monde.



1964

Northern Dancer, appartenant à E.P. Taylor de Toronto, devient le premier cheval d’élevage canadien à remporter le Kentucky Derby.



15 février 1965

Le drapeau national du Canada est choisi pour remplacer l’Union Jack. Le nouveau drapeau arbore un fond rouge orné au centre d’un carré blanc portant une grande feuille d’érable rouge en son milieu.



Juin 1969

Les premiers Jeux olympiques spéciaux se déroulent à Toronto et accueillent 1 400 participants issus des quatre coins du Canada.



28 septembre 1972

L’équipe canadienne bat l’Union soviétique lors de la Série du siècle. Paul Henderson marque le but de la victoire, à seulement 34 secondes de la fin du match.



1976

Originaire d’Ottawa, Sue Holloway devient la première athlète canadienne à participer à la fois aux Jeux olympiques d’été et d’hiver la même année pour le relais de ski de fond et la course de canots. (Sue Holloway, Jeux olympiques d’été de 1976 à Montréal. Photographie fournie par le Comité olympique canadien.)



7 avril 1977

Devant une foule en liesse de 44 649 partisans, les Blue Jays de Toronto disputent leur tout premier match à l’Exhibition Stadium à Toronto contre les White Sox de Chicago. Ils remportent le match par 9 victoires contre 5. (Stade de baseball de Toronto, v. 1977. Photographie fournie par le service d’archives de la Ville de Toronto.)



1982

La Loi constitutionnelle du Canada est signée par Sa Majesté la reine Élizabeth II et le premier ministre Pierre Elliott Trudeau. Elle s’accompagne de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés.



1982

Originaire de Toronto, Carling Bassett est la seule Canadienne à avoir fait partie du carré des 10 meilleurs joueurs de tennis en simple du circuit professionnel au cours du XXe siècle. (Carling Bassett. Photographie fournie par Tennis Canada.)



1984

Les nageurs canadiens Alex Baumann et Victor Davis remportent tous les deux des médailles d’or en natation aux Jeux olympiques de 1984 à Los Angeles. Alex Baumann, porte-drapeau aux Jeux, remporte une médaille d’or au 200 mètres quatre nages hommes et au 400 mètres quatre nages hommes. Victor Davis remporte une médaille d’or au 200 mètres brasse hommes. (Alex Baumann, Jeux olympiques d’été de 1984 à Los Angeles. Photographie fournie par le Comité olympique canadien.)



1992

Les Blue Jays de Toronto remportent la Série mondiale, en battant les Braves d’Atlanta par 4 victoires à 3. Ils deviennent ainsi la première équipe à remporter un titre de Série mondiale à l’extérieur des États-Unis. L’équipe connaît d’ailleurs une saison record en enregistrant 96 victoires et 66 défaites. Les Blue Jays de Toronto remportent de nouveau la Série mondiale en 1993.



Originaire de Scarborough, Paul Tracy remporte la course automobile Molson Indy de Toronto. Il remportera de nouveau la course en 2003. Cliquez ici pour voir Paul Tracy remporter la course.



Été 2015

Toronto accueille les Jeux panaméricains et parapanaméricains, le troisième plus important événement multisport d’envergure international.