Building alliances with Aboriginal peoples, 1609-10 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Building alliances with Aboriginal peoples, 1609-10

Champlain travelled from Quebec to Tadoussac in June 1609 to meet his friend and colleague Pont Gravé, and learned from him that Sieur de Monts’s trade monopoly had not been renewed, making the St. Lawrence River more attractive to those who favoured free trade. Through private correspondence from de Monts, Champlain was ordered to return to France in the fall of 1609. When he received this news, Champlain determined to use his remaining time in New France to further establish positive relations with his Aboriginal colleagues.

Champlain planned to join his Algonquin (Anishinabe), Huron (Wendat) and Montagnais (Innu) allies on a campaign against the Iroquois (Haudenosaunee) and, more specifically, the Mohawk near Ticonderoga in modern upstate New York. Champlain and his Aboriginal allies departed from Quebec on June 28, 1609. Early in July, they reached the mouth of the River of the Iroquois, today’s Richelieu River and, by the middle of July, arrived at a body of water that Champlain named for himself: Lake Champlain.

Late in the evening of July 29, near Ticonderoga, Champlain and his two French and 60 Aboriginal allies encountered the Mohawk. They engaged in combat the following day. During the battle, fire from the French gun, or arquebus, took the Mohawk completely by surprise and was largely responsible for their defeat. This victory over the Mohawk further elevated Champlain’s status and strengthened alliances with his Aboriginal colleagues.

Following the campaign, Champlain accompanied his Montagnais (Innu) neighbours to their villages to observe victory ceremonies. He then returned to Quebec and, following de Monts’s orders, prepared to depart for France. He arrived in France in October of 1609 and immediately sought an audience with King Henri IV to present gifts and report on his time in New France.

Champlain also worked with Sieur de Monts to rally support among investors for the settlement at Quebec and further exploration of the region. This venture was successful and, after six months in France, Champlain returned to Quebec in the spring of 1610. Soon after his arrival, he again participated in a campaign against the Mohawk with his Aboriginal allies. They left Quebec and reached the lower Richelieu River on June 19, where they engaged in battle with the Mohawk. Although Champlain suffered arrow wounds to his ear and neck, the French and their Aboriginal allies emerged victorious. Following this campaign, the Mohawk posed little or no threat in the St. Lawrence Valley until 1634, in part because they turned their attention to the south to build trade alliances with the Dutch.

Champlain returned to Quebec and began to prepare the settlement for winter and improve its fortifications against the threat of attack from the English and illegal traders. He also arranged for Étienne Brûlé, who had accompanied him to Quebec in 1608, to live with his Aboriginal allies in order to learn their languages and gain information about the interior of the continent. While initially he was to live with the Algonquin (Anishinabe) people, it seems that Brûlé ended up in the Georgian Bay/Lake Simcoe region of modern Ontario and lived with the Huron (Wendat) during the winter of 1610-11.

During this period, Champlain received word of the assassination of King Henri IV and so quickly returned to France to secure continued support for New France at the French court. He was accompanied by a Huron (Wendat) man named Savignon, who was sent by his people to observe and report on what he saw in France.

Alliances avec les Autochtones : 1609-1610 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Alliances avec les Autochtones : 1609-1610

Champlain se rend de Québec à Tadoussac en juin 1609 pour y rencontrer son collègue et ami Pont-Gravé, de la bouche duquel il apprend que le monopole de commerce du sieur de Monts n’a pas été prorogé, ce qui rend le Saint-Laurent plus attrayant aux yeux des partisans du libre-échange. Champlain se voit enjoindre, par une correspondance privée signée du sieur de Monts, de retourner en France à l’automne 1609. Lorsqu’il reçoit cette nouvelle, Champlain décide d’employer le temps qui lui reste en Nouvelle-France à cultiver des relations positives avec les Autochtones.

Champlain prévoit de s’allier aux Algonquins (Anishinabegs), aux Hurons-Wendat et aux Montagnais (Innus) afin de lancer un assaut contre les Iroquois (Haudenosaunees), plus précisément les Mohawks, près de Ticonderoga, dans le nord de l’actuel État de New York. Champlain et ses alliés autochtones quittent donc Québec le 28 juin 1609. Au début du mois de juillet, ils atteignent l’embouchure de la rivière des Iroquois, aujourd’hui appelée rivière Richelieu. Au milieu du mois de juillet, ils parviennent à un plan d’eau que Champlain baptise de son propre nom : le lac Champlain.

Dans la nuit du 29 juillet, près de Ticonderoga, Champlain, ses deux compagnons français et ses 60 alliés autochtones rencontrent les Mohawks. L’affrontement a lieu le lendemain. Durant la bataille, les fusils français, ou arquebuses, prennent les Mohawks complètement au dépourvu et entraînent leur défaite. La victoire sur les Mohawks rehausse le prestige de Champlain et renforce ses alliances avec les Autochtones.

Après cette bataille, Champlain accompagne ses voisins Montagnais (Innus) dans leurs villages pour y observer leurs rites de victoire. Ensuite, il retourne à Québec et se prépare à faire route pour la France conformément aux instructions du sieur de Monts. Arrivé en France en octobre 1609, il demande aussitôt audience avec le roi Henri IV pour lui apporter des cadeaux et lui rendre des comptes sur le temps consacré en Nouvelle-France.

Champlain collabore également avec le sieur de Monts pour se ménager le soutien des investisseurs à l’égard de l’établissement de Québec et de l’exploration de la région. Ce projet est une réussite et, après six mois passés en France, Champlain retourne à Québec au printemps 1610. Peu de temps après son arrivée, il participe à une nouvelle bataille contre les Mohawks avec ses alliés autochtones. Ensemble, ils quittent Québec et atteignent le bas Richelieu le 19 juin, où ils livrent bataille aux Mohawks. Champlain est blessé à l’oreille et au cou par des tirs de flèches; néanmoins, les Français et leurs alliés autochtones sortent victorieux. À l’issue de cette bataille, les Mohawks ne représentent presque aucune menace dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent jusqu’en 1634, en partie parce qu’ils portent leur attention vers le sud pour y sceller des alliances commerciales avec les Hollandais.

Champlain revient à Québec, puis commence à préparer l’établissement pour l’hiver et à améliorer les fortifications contre la menace d’attaque que représentent les Anglais et les marchands illégaux. Il fait également en sorte qu’Étienne Brûlé, qui l’a accompagné à Québec en 1608, puisse vivre avec ses alliés autochtones, apprendre leurs langues et recueillir des renseignements sur l’intérieur du continent. Il est initialement prévu qu’Étienne Brûlé vive avec les Algonquins (Anishinabegs), mais, selon toute vraisemblance, il se rend dans la région de la baie Georgienne et du lac Simcoe de l’actuel Ontario pour y vivre avec les Hurons-Wendat pendant l’hiver 1610-1611.

Au cours de cette période, informé de l’assassinat d’Henri IV, Champlain retourne sur-le-champ en France afin de s’assurer du soutien continu en faveur de la Nouvelle-France auprès de la cour royale. Il est accompagné d’un Huron-Wendat du nom de Savignon, envoyé par sa tribu afin d’observer les us et coutumes de France.