The French presence in North America before 1603 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

The French presence in North America before 1603

Samuel de Champlain was not the first European to travel to what is now North America, nor was he the first to make an attempt at colonization in the St. Lawrence Valley. As early as 1500, European explorers began to visit the edges of the North American continent in search of fish, whales and other lucrative resources. These explorers met and traded with Aboriginal peoples and, in some instances, may have employed their services to render whales into oil.

In 1534, Jacques Cartier sailed from France to the St. Lawrence River and produced the first detailed account, from a European perspective, of the encounter between Aboriginal people and Europeans in 16th-century Canada. His second and third voyages occurred in 1535-36 and 1541. During his last voyage, an attempt was made to establish a colony under the leadership of Jean-François de la Rocque, Sieur de Roberval. After much suffering and death, the colony was abandoned in 1542. The issues and struggles associated with colonization, along with unfavourable predictions about possible wealth and the strain of the religious wars in Europe, halted French exploration in the St. Lawrence Valley for a time.

While fishers and whalers continued to operate on the river seasonally, it was not until the 1570s that the French were once again drawn to the St. Lawrence Valley, purely to engage in the fur trade, which became increasingly profitable as changes in European fashion demanded significant quantities of beaver pelts for the production of felt hats.

By 1598, traders operating in the St. Lawrence Valley began to realize and complain that increased competition was costing them profits. In response, the French government granted monopolies to commercial companies that would assume the costly work of exploration and settlement, as well as assert French sovereignty in the St. Lawrence Valley over other European powers.

One such monopoly resulted in the establishment of a French colony at Sable Island by Troilus du Mesgoùez, Marquis de la Roche-Helgomarche, which ultimately ended in disaster. In 1599, Pierre de Chauvin was granted a 10-year fur trade monopoly and commissioned to establish a colony in the St. Lawrence Valley. This attempt, at Tadoussac, also met with failure.

During this period of France’s renewed official interest in Canada, Champlain worked at the Louvre as a geographer for King Henri IV, and carefully studied these failed attempts at colonization and drew lessons from them. He also developed his own vision for exploration, settlement and religious conversion in what is now North America, while he waited for his own opportunity to make his first voyage to the continent.

La présence française en Amérique du Nord avant 1603 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

La présence française en Amérique du Nord avant 1603

Samuel de Champlain n’est pas le premier Européen à entreprendre un voyage vers l’actuelle Amérique du Nord ou à tenter de coloniser la vallée du Saint-Laurent. Dès l’an 1500, des explorateurs européens commencent à visiter les abords du continent nord-américain afin d’y trouver poissons, baleines et autres ressources lucratives. Ces explorateurs rencontrent les populations autochtones, établissent avec elles des relations de commerce et, dans certains cas, ont peut-être recours à leurs services pour extraire l’huile des baleines.

En 1534, Jacques Cartier fait voile depuis la France à destination du Saint-Laurent, puis rédige le tout premier compte rendu détaillé, du point de vue européen, de la rencontre entre les Autochtones et les Européens au Canada du XVIe siècle. Ses deuxième et troisième voyages ont lieu entre 1535-1536 et 1541. Lors de son dernier voyage, il tente de fonder une colonie sous le commandement de Jean-François de la Rocque, sieur de Roberval. Après nombre de souffrances et de décès, la colonie est abandonnée en 1542. Les luttes et les enjeux associés à la colonisation, les prédictions pessimistes quant aux richesses potentielles et les guerres de religion auxquelles l’Europe est en proie mettent un terme à l’exploration française de la vallée du Saint-Laurent.

Alors que les pêcheurs et les chasseurs de baleines poursuivent leurs activités sur le fleuve lorsque la saison s’y prête, il faut attendre les années 1570 pour que les Français reparaissent dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent, essentiellement pour s’y livrer à la traite des fourrures, activité devenue particulièrement lucrative à une époque où l’évolution de la mode européenne exige de grandes quantités de peaux de castors destinées à la production de chapeaux.

Dès 1598, les marchands actifs dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent commencent à se rendre compte que la concurrence accrue pèse sur leurs bénéfices, et à se plaindre de cette situation. En réponse, l’État français décide d’octroyer un monopole d’exploitation à toute compagnie commerciale qui prendrait à sa charge le coût de l’exploration et de l’implantation, et qui assoirait la suprématie française dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent sur les autres puissances européennes.

L’un de ces monopoles donne lieu à l’implantation d’une colonie française sur l’île de Sable par Troilus du Mesgouez, marquis de la Roche-Helgomarche, qui se termine en catastrophe. En 1599, Pierre de Chauvin se voit octroyer un monopole de la traite des fourrures pour 10 ans, ainsi qu’une nouvelle commission pour fonder une colonie dans la vallée du Saint-Laurent. Cette tentative, à Tadoussac, se solde également par un échec.

Au cours de cette période où l’on observe un regain d’intérêt de la cour de France à l’égard du Canada, Champlain travaille au Louvre en tant que géographe du roi Henri IV, étudie méticuleusement ces tentatives avortées de colonisation, puis en tire des enseignements. Il développe également sa vision de l’exploration, de la colonisation et de l’évangélisation de l’actuelle Amérique du Nord, tout en attendant patiemment une occasion d’entreprendre son premier voyage sur ce continent.