Cultural Heritage Symposium - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

On Monday, November 23, 2015 the Ontario Heritage Trust held a one-day symposium to encourage discussion of and inspire contributions to Ontario’s Culture Strategy. Harvey McCue, Vice-Chair of the Ontario Heritage Trust Board of Directors welcomed participants. Beth Hanna, Chief Executive Officer of the Trust began the day with an overview of the breadth and scope of heritage, cultural and natural, tangible and intangible. Kevin Finnerty, Assistant Deputy Minister of the Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport’s Culture Division, spoke on behalf of the province and provided an update on the creation of Ontario’s first Culture Strategy.

The symposium explored five topics through panel presentations and discussion:

  • Cultural landscapes
  • City building
  • Tangible heritage
  • How the public engages with heritage
  • Conserving the intangibles

Panels were composed of professionals working within public, private and not-for profit sectors from a range of fields, including: municipal heritage planning, museums and archives, education and research, architecture and urban design, media, archaeology and physical restoration. Participants included more than 100 sector leaders, colleagues, professionals and thinkers from equally diverse perspectives.

This report highlights ideas and best practices explored during the symposium. We believe that it provides useful feedback in support of a strong, vibrant, inclusive heritage sector that is well integrated into the culture of Ontario.

Symposium sur le patrimoine culturel - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Le lundi 23 novembre 2015, la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien a tenu un symposium d’une journée dans le but d’encourager une discussion sur la Stratégie ontarienne pour la culture et d’inspirer des collaborations à cette initiative. Harvey McCue, vice-président du conseil d’administration de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, a souhaité la bienvenue aux participants. Beth Hanna, directrice générale de la Fiducie, a commencé la journée en donnant une vue d’ensemble de l’étendue et de la portée du patrimoine culturel et naturel matériel et immatériel. Kevin Finnerty, sous-ministre adjoint de la Division des affaires culturelles du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport, a prononcé une allocution au nom de la province et a fait le point sur la création de la première stratégie ontarienne pour la culture.

Le symposium a permis d’explorer cinq sujets sous la forme de présentations par des groupes d’experts et d’une discussion :

  • les paysages culturels
  • l’aménagement des villes
  • le patrimoine matériel
  • la participation de la population au patrimoine
  • la conservation de l’immatériel

Les groupes d’experts étaient composés de professionnels qui travaillent dans les secteurs public, privé et sans but lucratif dans un éventail de domaines, y compris la planification du patrimoine municipal, les musées et les archives, l’éducation et la recherche, l’architecture et l’aménagement urbain, les médias, l’archéologie et la restauration physique. Les participants comprenaient des chefs de file, des collègues, des professionnels et des gens de réflexion de plus de 100 secteurs qui avaient autant de points de vue divergeants.

Ce rapport met en évidence les idées et les pratiques exemplaires qui ont été explorées au cours du symposium. Nous estimons qu’il apporte une rétroaction utile en faveur d’un secteur du patrimoine fort, dynamique et inclusif qui est bien intégré à la culture de l’Ontario.