Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence program accepting applications for 2020 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence program accepting applications for 2020

TORONTO – The Ontario Heritage Trust is calling for applications to the Doris McCarthy Artist-in-Residence program. The application deadline is September 30, 2019.

This residency program is open to Canadian professional artists who are practising a wide array of disciplines. Selected artists will live at Fool’s Paradise, the former home and studio of renowned artist Doris McCarthy. Located on the Scarborough Bluffs in Toronto, the site provides accommodation and studio space in a serene and picturesque setting where visual artists, musicians, and writers can concentrate on their creative work.

Residencies are available throughout 2020, with terms ranging from one to three months.

The program is coordinated and delivered by the Ontario Heritage Trust as part of the agreement undertaken with McCarthy when she bequeathed the property to the Trust in 1998. Following her death in 2010, the Trust founded the residency program and since 2015 has welcomed artists from varied and diverse backgrounds to Fool’s Paradise. The program encourages artists to embrace the multi-disciplinary nature of the arts, demonstrate the restorative influence of landscape and environment and foster excellence among contemporary artists.

As part of the residency, artists are required to provide a mentorship opportunity to support the development of an emerging artist or artists.

To learn more and to fill out an application ...

The Trust welcomes applications from artists practicing in a wide variety of creative disciplines, as well as artists from underrepresented backgrounds. This program is supported generously by the RBC Foundation’s Emerging Artists project.

Quick facts:

  • Doris McCarthy (1910-2010) was one of Canada’s most recognized landscape painters of the second half of the 20th century.
  • McCarthy donated Fool’s Paradise to the Ontario Heritage Trust in 1998 to conserve its scenic, esthetic, natural and cultural values, with the wish that following her death it would become an artist-in-residence centre and venue for heritage activities.
  • To date, 33 artists have been awarded residencies at Fool’s Paradise.
  • The Trust works with the Doris McCarthy Gallery (University of Toronto Scarborough), OCAD University, the Ontario Society of Artists and the Writer’s Union of Canada on the development of the program.
  • Although the property is not typically open to the public, it is often a participating site in Doors Open Ontario – Toronto and draws hundreds of visitors a year to see the beautiful garden and unique cottage and studio space.

Learn more:

Contact:

For more information, contact Edward Dodd at 416-325-5074 or Edward.Dodd@heritagetrust.on.ca.

About the Ontario Heritage Trust:

The Ontario Heritage Trust (OHT) is an agency of the Ontario Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport. The Trust identifies, protects, promotes and conserves Ontario’s heritage. The Trust conserves provincially significant cultural and natural heritage, interprets Ontario’s history, educates Ontarians of its importance in our society, and celebrates the province’s diversity. The Trust envisions an Ontario where the places, landscapes, traditions and stories that embody our heritage are reflected, valued and conserved for future generations.

-30-

Le Programme des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy accepte désormais les demandes pour 2020 - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Le Programme des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy accepte désormais les demandes pour 2020

TORONTO – La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien lance un appel à candidatures pour le Programme des artistes en résidence Doris McCarthy. La date limite de présentation des demandes est fixée au 30 septembre 2019.

Ce programme d’artistes en résidence est ouvert aux artistes professionnels canadiens qui exercent leur discipline dans un large éventail de domaines. Les artistes sélectionnés résideront au « Paradis d’une folle », l’ancien domicile et atelier de l’artiste de renom Doris McCarthy. Situé sur les falaises Scarborough à Toronto, le site offre un hébergement et un atelier dans un cadre serein et pittoresque où les artistes en arts visuels, les musiciens et les écrivains peuvent se concentrer sur leur travail créatif.

Des résidences dont la durée varie de un à trois mois seront offertes tout au long de l’année 2020.

Le programme est coordonné et administré par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien dans le cadre de l’engagement qu’elle a pris envers Doris McCarthy lorsque cette dernière lui a légué la propriété en 1998. À la mort de Mme McCarthy en 2010, la Fiducie a créé le programme d’artistes en résidence et depuis 2015, elle accueille des artistes de cultures diverses et variées au « Paradis d’une folle ». Le programme encourage les artistes à s’ouvrir au caractère pluridisciplinaire des arts, à valoriser l’influence réparatrice du paysage et de l'environnement, et à favoriser l'excellence chez les artistes contemporains.

Dans le cadre de ce programme, les artistes doivent offrir une occasion de mentorat à un ou plusieurs artistes émergents afin de les aider à faire avancer leur carrière.

Pour en savoir davantage et remplir une demande...

La Fiducie encourage les artistes qui exercent dans un large éventail de disciplines créatives, ainsi que les artistes issus de milieux culturels sous-représentés, à présenter une demande de résidence. Ce programme est généreusement soutenu par le projet Artistes émergents de la Fondation RBC.

Faits en bref :

  • Doris McCarthy (1910-2010) était l’une des peintres paysagistes les plus célèbres de la seconde moitié du 20e siècle au Canada.
  • Mme McCarthy a fait don du « Paradis d'une folle » à la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien en 1988 pour préserver le caractère pittoresque, esthétique, naturel et culturel de la propriété, en exprimant le souhait qu’elle devienne, à sa mort, un centre d’artistes en résidence et un lieu d’activités patrimoniales.
  • Jusqu’à présent, 33 artistes se sont vu accorder une résidence au « Paradis d’une folle ».
  • La Fiducie travaille à l'élaboration du programme en collaboration avec la galerie Doris McCarthy (Université de Toronto à Scarborough), l'Université de l'EADO, l'Ontario Society of Artists et The Writers’ Union of Canada.
  • Bien qu’en général, la propriété ne soit pas ouverte au public, elle fait souvent partie des sites qui participent à Portes ouvertes Ontario – Toronto et elle attire chaque année des centaines de visiteurs qui viennent y découvrir son superbe jardin, mais aussi son chalet et son atelier hors du commun.

Pour en savoir davantage :

Personne-ressource :

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec Edward Dodd en composant le 416 325-5074 ou en envoyant un courriel à Edward.Dodd@heritagetrust.on.ca.

À propos de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien :

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien (FPO) est un organisme qui relève du ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport de l’Ontario. La Fiducie identifie, protège, valorise et préserve le patrimoine de l’Ontario. Elle assure aussi la préservation du patrimoine culturel et naturel important de la province, interprète l’histoire de l’Ontario, sensibilise la population ontarienne à son importance dans notre société et célèbre la diversité de la province. La Fiducie imagine un Ontario où les lieux, les paysages, les traditions et les histoires qui incarnent notre patrimoine sont reflétés, valorisés et préservés dans l’intérêt des générations futures.

-30-