Cheltenham Badlands - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Accessibility update: Now open! Entry to the Badlands is by reservation only. Visitor and parking capacity limits in effect to ensure physical distancing. Illegal parking subject to fines and towing. All visitors must follow COVID safety guidelines. See the Credit Valley Conservation website for more information.

Cheltenham Badlands

The Ontario Heritage Trust – along with its managing partners, the Credit Valley Conservation and the Bruce Trail Conservancy – reopened the Cheltenham Badlands in 2018.

The Cheltenham Badlands is one of Ontario’s geological treasures, formed at the base of an ancient sea about 450 million years ago. The 36-hectare (91-acre) site is a provincially significant Area of Natural and Scientific Interest and hosts one of the most recognizable and visited natural heritage landmarks in southern Ontario.

Ancestors of the Mississaugas of the Credit arrived here to hunt, fish and forage. They set up small, temporary villages on the river flats and practised horticulture, seasonally migrating and living lightly on the land. They stewarded this land over many generations.

European settlers cleared the land to establish homesteads and farms. From around 1850 to 1950, crops such as winter wheat, oats, potatoes and peas were grown here, and cattle grazed on the property. Signs of the apple orchard and a stone foundation from one of the original buildings still exist on the property.

The removal of trees and early farming practices caused the shallow topsoil to erode away, in turn exposing the underlying Queenston shale. Rain, snowmelt and freeze-thaw conditions caused rapidly accelerating erosion of the shale, resulting in the unique ridge and gully landscape known today as the Cheltenham Badlands.

Since being exposed in the early 1900s, the shale eroded into a series of hummocks and gullies, producing the current distinctive landscape. Approximately 20 per cent of the property consists off badlands topography; the remaining portions of the site include mature forests, wetlands and regenerating cultural woodland. The property was acquired by the Ontario Heritage Trust in 2002 in collaboration with the Bruce Trail Conservancy and the Ministry of Natural Resources and Forestry.

Please come to enjoy the view but be sure to park legally in the parking lot or use the shuttle bus service offered from Terra Cotta Conservation Area. All visitors are asked to be good to the Badlands and stay on the trails and boardwalks so that future generations can continue to enjoy this site.

Heritage significance

The Cheltenham Badlands property is designated as a provincially significant Earth Science Area of Natural and Scientific Interest (ANSI). Due to its importance as a groundwater discharge area (groundwater emerges from the escarpment into streams), the property is also recognized as an Environmentally Significant Area (ESA). The coldwater stream on the property at the foot of the exposed badlands is a tributary of the Credit River. The diversity of habitat types allows the property to host rare flora, ranging from prairie sundrops to butternut.

Help us preserve the Cheltenham Badlands

The work of the Trust in conserving Ontario’s heritage would not be possible without the support of donors, corporate sponsors and partners across the province. Your support will ensure that the Cheltenham Badlands are enjoyed by future generations.

Make a donation to support work being done at the Badlands.

Recent conservation work

Cheltenham Badlands is a unique and spectacular natural landscape feature in southern Ontario at risk of damage from intense public use.

The Cheltenham Badlands Management Planning Team worked closely together with the Ontario Heritage Trust to plan for the long-term conservation and interpretation of the Badlands property. The Trust is grateful to Credit Valley Conservation, the Bruce Trail Conservancy, the Town of Caledon, the Region of Peel, the Mississaugas of the Credit First Nation, the Caledon Countryside Alliance and the University of Toronto.

The Trust undertook a project in 2017-18 to improve access to the site, upgrade the trails, enhance public safety and introduce new trail wayfinding and onsite/virtual interpretive features.

The Trust would like to acknowledge the Government of Ontario and the Government of Canada for their financial support for this project.

The Trust would also like to acknowledge the support provided by the Region of Peel and the TD Friends of the Environment Foundation.

Les badlands de Cheltenham - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Les badlands de Cheltenham

La Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien, en collaboration avec ses partenaires de gestion, la Credit Valley Conservation et la Bruce Trail Conservancy (en anglais seulement), a rouvert les badlands de Cheltenham en 2018.

Les badlands de Cheltenham sont un des trésors géologiques de l’Ontario, qui se sont formés à la base d’une mer ancienne il y a environ 450 millions d’années. Le site de 36 hectares (91 acres) est une importante zone d’intérêt naturel et scientifique dans la province, et constitue l’un des hauts lieux du patrimoine naturel le plus reconnaissable et visité dans le Sud de l’Ontario.

Des ancêtres des Mississaugas de la Credit sont arrivés à cet endroit pour chasser, pêcher et chercher de la nourriture. Ils installaient de petits villages temporaires dans les plaines de la rivière et pratiquaient l’horticulture, migrant en fonction des saisons et sollicitant peu les terres. Ils ont assuré l’intendance de ces terres pendant plusieurs générations.

Les colons européens ont défriché le terrain pour établir des propriétés et des fermes. D’environ 1850 à 1950, des cultures comme le blé d’hiver, l’avoine, les pommes de terre et les pois sont pratiquées, et du bétail pâture dans la propriété. On peut encore observer aujourd’hui des traces du verger de pommiers et les fondations en pierre de l’un des bâtiments d’origine.

L’enlèvement des arbres et les pratiques agricoles initiales provoquent l’érosion de la mince couche arable, exposant le schiste de Queenston sous-jacent. La pluie, la fonte des neiges et les conditions de gel-dégel provoquent une accélération rapide de l’érosion du schiste, donnant naissance au paysage singulier de crêtes et de rigoles connu aujourd’hui comme les badlands de Cheltenham.

Depuis qu’il est exposé au début des années 1900, le schiste s’est érodé en une série de monticules et de rigoles, formant le relief distinctif actuel. Environ 20 p. 100 de la propriété sont constitués de ce relief des badlands; les parties restantes comprennent des forêts matures, des zones humides et des bois de culture en régénération. La propriété a été acquise par la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien en 2002 en collaboration avec la Bruce Trail Conservancy et le ministère des Richesses naturelles et des Forêts.

Venez admirer la vue, mais assurez-vous de vous stationner légalement dans le parc de stationnement ou utilisez le service de bus-navette offert depuis la zone de protection de la nature de Terra Cotta. Nous prions tous les visiteurs de respecter les badlands et de rester sur les sentiers et les promenades de bois pour que les générations futures puissent continuer de profiter de ce site.

Importance patrimoniale

La propriété des badlands de Cheltenham est reconnue comme une importante zone d’intérêt naturel et scientifique (ZINS) des sciences de la terre dans la province. En raison de son importance en tant que zone d’écoulement des eaux souterraines (l’eau souterraine émerge de l’escarpement sous forme de ruisseaux), la propriété est également reconnue comme étant une zone importante et sensible sur le plan environnemental (ZISE). Le ruisseau d’eau froide dans la propriété au pied des badlands exposés est un affluent de la rivière Credit. Grâce à la diversité des types d’habitat, la propriété abrite des espèces végétales rares, allant de l’oenothera pilosella au noyer cendré.

Aidez-nous à préserver les badlands de Cheltenham

Le travail de conservation du patrimoine de l'Ontario réalisé par la Fiducie ne serait pas possible sans le soutien des donateurs, des sociétés commanditaires et des partenaires des quatre coins de la province. Votre soutien permettra de veiller à ce que les générations futures puissent profiter des badlands de Cheltenham.

Pour faire un don ou soutenir les travaux entrepris dans les badlands

Travaux de conservation récents

Les badlands de Cheltenham sont un paysage naturel unique et spectaculaire du Sud de l’Ontario que menace l’utilisation intense par le public.

L’Équipe pour l’aménagement des badlands de Cheltenham a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien pour planifier à long terme la conservation et l’interprétation de la propriété des badlands. La Fiducie est reconnaissante envers la Credit Valley Conservation, la Bruce Trail Conservancy, la ville de Caledon, la région de Peel, la Première Nation mississauga de New Credit, la Caledon Countryside Alliance et l’Université de Toronto.

La Fiducie a entrepris en 2017-2018 un projet visant à améliorer l’accès à ce site, à parachever les sentiers, à renforcer la sécurité publique et à inclure de nouveaux panneaux de signalisation des sentiers et éléments d’interprétation virtuels et sur place.

La Fiducie tient à remercier le gouvernement de l’Ontario et le gouvernement du Canada pour le soutien financier qu’ils ont accordé à ce projet.

La Fiducie aimerait également remercier la région de Peel et la Fondation TD des amis de l’environnement pour leur soutien financier.