What the data shows - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

What the data shows

The review of the Trust’s property portfolio provided the Trust with a detailed and accurate understanding of the portfolio’s strengths, where property typologies are underrepresented, and where gaps exist. It also provided insight on why, when and how the Trust obtained properties over time.

The following graphics summarize and highlight some of the information obtained in this review.

Trust property distribution across Ontario

The Trust protects properties all over the province, connecting with the municipalities where millions of Ontarians live and work.



Architectural styles: Cultural properties

The architectural styles within Trust cultural holdings show a breadth of styles and eras, though some styles dominate (including vernacular, Georgian and Gothic).



Dates of construction: Cultural properties

The Trust’s portfolio includes some of the oldest buildings in Ontario, ranging from the late 1700s through to the late 20th century. The greatest number of properties were built in the mid-19th century. The current portfolio includes few post-1945 modern buildings.



Dominant vegetation communities at natural heritage sites

The Trust has a wide variety of vegetation community groups under protection, but some are vastly underrepresented – including fens, bogs and cliffs. Mixed and deciduous forests dominate.



Archaeology typologies

170 of the Trust’s properties contain known archaeological sites. Many more have archaeological potential that has not yet been explored.



Historical function of Trust properties

The Trust’s property portfolio includes buildings that have served a wide variety of public and private functions in their communities over time. This speaks to the existing diversity within the portfolio. The largest single type is single-unit dwellings.



Partnerships

The Trust manages properties in partnership with a variety of organizations, groups and individuals. These partnerships are critical to the conservation of every single building and piece of land in the Trust’s portfolio. Municipalities and conservation authorities are some of the most common partnerships the Trust has.



Acquisition dates

Much of the Trust’s cultural and natural heritage portfolio was acquired when there were government funding programs available. This helped leverage public money for the conservation of provincially significant sites and represents important public investments in conservation. Many properties have also been donated by private individuals or organizations.



Acquisition methods

The Trust has acquired properties in different ways over many decades, with a significant number of sites coming to the Trust through government-funded programs. These strategic investments leveraged public dollars for conservation and brought a wide range of sites into Trust protection.

Ce que les données montrent - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Ce que les données montrent

L'examen du portefeuille immobilier de la Fiducie lui a permis d'avoir une compréhension détaillée et précise des atouts du portefeuille, des endroits où les typologies de propriétés sont sous-représentées et des lacunes. Il a également permis de comprendre pourquoi, quand et comment la Fiducie a obtenu des propriétés au fil du temps.

Les graphiques suivants résument et mettent en évidence certaines des informations obtenues lors de cet examen.

Répartition des propriétés de la Fiducie à travers l'Ontario

La Fiducie protège des propriétés dans toute la province, en lien avec les municipalités où vivent et travaillent des millions d'Ontariennes et d’Ontariens.



Styles architecturaux : biens culturels

Les styles architecturaux des biens culturels de la Fiducie présentent une grande diversité de styles et d'époques, bien que certains styles dominent (notamment les styles vernaculaire, géorgien et gothique).



Dates de construction : biens culturels

Le portefeuille de la Fiducie comprend certains des plus vieux bâtiments de l'Ontario, datant de la fin du 18e siècle à la fin du 20e siècle. Le plus grand nombre de propriétés a été construit au milieu du 19e siècle. Le portefeuille actuel comprend peu de bâtiments modernes postérieurs à 1945.



Communautés végétales dominantes dans les sites du patrimoine naturel

La Fiducie protège une grande variété de communautés végétales, mais certaines sont largement sous-représentées, notamment les tourbières, les marais et les falaises. Les forêts mixtes et à feuilles caduques dominent.



Typologies archéologiques

170 des propriétés de la Fiducie contiennent des sites archéologiques connus. Beaucoup d'autres ont un potentiel archéologique qui n'a pas encore été exploré. Davantage de paysages culturels autochtones devraient être protégés en collaboration avec les communautés autochtones.



Fonction historique des propriétés de la Fiducie

Le portefeuille immobilier de la Fiducie comprend des bâtiments qui ont servi une grande variété de fonctions publiques et privées dans leurs communautés au fil du temps. Cela témoigne de la diversité existante au sein du portefeuille. Le type le plus important est celui des logements individuels.



Partenariats

La Fiducie gère des propriétés en partenariat avec une variété d'organismes, de groupes et de particuliers. Ces partenariats sont essentiels à la conservation de chaque bâtiment et terrain du portefeuille de la Fiducie. Les municipalités et les organismes de protection de la nature font partie des partenariats les plus courants de la Fiducie.



Dates d'acquisition

Une grande partie du portefeuille du patrimoine culturel et naturel de la Fiducie a été acquise lorsque des programmes de financement gouvernementaux étaient disponibles. Cela a permis de mobiliser des fonds publics pour la conservation de sites d'importance provinciale et représente d'importants investissements publics en matière de conservation. De nombreuses propriétés ont également été données par des particuliers ou des organisations.



Méthodes d'acquisition

La Fiducie a acquis des propriétés de différentes manières au cours de nombreuses décennies, un nombre important de sites lui étant confié par le biais de programmes financés par le gouvernement. Ces investissements stratégiques ont permis de mobiliser des fonds publics pour la conservation et à un large éventail de sites d'être protégés par la Fiducie.