Alteration Request Form Guidelines - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Alteration Request Form Guidelines

Complete the information and attach all necessary documentation to your alteration request application. The accuracy and completeness of this form is the responsibility of the applicant. Failure to complete the form may result in delays.

Before proceeding with any activity or action that may affect an easement property (e.g., legal, physical or esthetic), owners should consult the easement agreement and discuss the matter with the Ontario Heritage Trust’s (hereinafter referred to as the “Trust”) Easement Program Coordinator to determine if Trust approval is required. The Trust also views that approvals or pre-approvals are possible only to the degree and level of detail provided by the owner.

The Easement Program Coordinator can be reached at 437-246-4326.

Good conservation planning and practice requires a full and complete understanding of the impact of proposed alterations on the heritage elements/features of a property. Methods and materials for implementation are also required as part of an approval request.

The purpose of the approval process is not to prohibit change but to ensure that it is carefully managed with sound conservation principles in mind. This is the core purpose of the easement. The Trust’s decisions are based on its mandate as stipulated in Part II of the Ontario Heritage Act, R.S.O. 1990, Chapter O.18, the Trust’s Eight Guiding Principles in the Conservation of Historical Properties, the Trust’s handbook Well-Preserved (by Mark Fram), Standards and Guidelines for the Conservation of Historic Places in Canada and international charters, standards and principles.

The intention of the alteration request form is to provide the Trust with adequate information so that staff can clearly understand the specific details of any proposed alterations. Applicants should provide information on any possible alternative approach that they have considered. Please note that alteration requests should be submitted as early as possible, preferably in the preliminary stages of your project.

The Trust’s role is to provide support and technical conservation advice, and to enforce the legal obligations of the easement. Although each agreement is different, most allow 60 days from receiving a complete, written alteration request for the Trust to respond. The responses, however, are typically faster than this. If the application is incomplete, or the Trust requires further information or documentation to interpret the request, the 60-day period will start when these are provided. The record will also be used to evaluate whether a given project has been completed as per the written approval issued by the Trust.

An Alteration Completion Form and Report will be required at the end of the project. This form will allow the Trust to track the work completed on site and will provide important archival information for the future. It also allows the owner to more easily track the approval process.

Please note that a report or record of repair will be required on completion of the project; it should be compiled from the outset. Refer to the Alteration Completion Form and Guidelines for further information.

After obtaining written approval to proceed, please inform the Trust of any changes to the scope of the project that may be required as work progresses on site and unanticipated conditions are uncovered.

The primary purpose of the easement is the conservation of the heritage elements/features. Part of this conservation is achieved through the alteration request process. Some easement agreements allow for normal repairs that do not require Trust approval. In these situations, and to ensure that the work you propose falls into this category, consult the agreement and discuss the matter with Trust staff before you proceed.

Application guide

Owner information

This information is needed to verify the legal property owner’s details. Provide a mailing address, as well as a daytime telephone number.

Agent acting on behalf of the owner (if any)

If an agent has been or will be hired to assist with your project, fill in the name of the company, the agent’s name, and his/her contact information.

Property information

This section refers to the easement property on which work is to be carried out. Provide the easement property’s common name (e.g., Dundurn Castle, Ruthven Estate or Belleville City Hall) and the street address.

Project classification

Specify the nature of work that is to be performed on the property, and check all that apply.

New construction – includes any new buildings, additions or structures. The application should also include the materials to be used, and any technical drawings or photographs related to the new structure or addition.

Alterations – includes restoring, renovating, repairing or disturbing any of the heritage elements/features as described in the easement agreement. The application should also include drawings of the proposed alterations and any photographs of the area(s) in which modifications are to be carried out.

Repairs – includes any work carried out on the property to repair or restore its interior, exterior and/or any other physical repairs or restorations (plumbing, lighting, finishes, etc.) that affect the features protected by the easement agreement. Describe the current condition of what is to be repaired and include any photographs or other supporting documentation. Restoration will require evidence of research to corroborate the proposal.

Landscaping – includes any physical alteration of the property (landscape) as defined in the easement agreement. This work would include the re-planting, removal, destruction or cutting of trees, shrubs or other vegetation, except as may be necessary for good husbandry or the prevention/treatment of disease. Drawings should be provided to include the alterations that are proposed, and the materials to be used. An arborist’s report will be needed for tree removal.

Signs or Graphics – includes any addition of new graphics, wayfinding, signs or the alteration of existing graphics or signs. A drawing of the sign(s) with a description of the sign materials, the means of attachment, and the proposed location should be included with the application.

Lighting – includes the installation or addition of any new lighting fixtures, or the alteration or modification of any existing ones.

Demolition – includes the destruction of any heritage features (as defined in the easement agreement), and any buildings or structures on the property. Please include photographs of the structure or feature to be demolished, and describe the reason for removal.

Mechanical/Electical – includes the addition, alteration or renewal of an existing or new mechanical/electrical system (includes HVAC). An expert in these systems should be consulted and calculations done to ensure that the new or altered system will not negatively impact the heritage elements/features.

Pre-application advice

If you have received advice from Trust staff regarding this property and any proposed alteration, please specify the nature of the advice. If possible, include the name of the Trust staff person who assisted you. If you have not yet contacted the Trust, it is recommended that you do so before completing the application to receive information and advice regarding your application to make the process more efficient.

The Easement Program Coordinator can be reached at 437-246-4326, or by email at easements@heritagetrust.on.ca.

Project details

Check the boxes of the features that are to be affected by the alterations, and describe the work that is to be performed on them.

Project reasoning

Discuss the reason for carrying out the work on the property. Include a description of how the work will impact the heritage characteristics of the property. For major proposals, a conservation plan and/or heritage impact assessment may be required before the Trust can consider your proposal. Please consult the Trust for further advice and information.

Consultants and contractors

If you have appointed other parties to assist you with your proposed project, please indicate this here. Provide the name of the companies, the main contact person, and contact details. Résumés and lists of previous projects may be required.

Proposed schedule

Estimate the dates between which the work will be carried out.

Additional material

In order for the Trust to fully understand the nature of the work and the impact it will have on the heritage elements/features, additional material should be included. Specifications must be provided; include materials and workmanship. Separate drawing showing the existing condition and the proposed alteration should also be provided.

Site plan – include for any new construction, additions or changes to the landscape

Floorplan – include for any new interior construction, alteration or proposed demolition

Elevations – include for any landscaping or new exterior and/or interior construction, alteration or demolition

Photographs – include for any project images of the existing condition and area of work

Condition reports – include for any project, but specifically if there are renovations or repairs to be carried out on the building envelope or structure.

Note: If drawings are not available and a consultant is not being used, the Trust may be able to provide a template plan/drawing of your property for marking up.

Applications checklist

Complete the checklist to ensure that you have filled in all parts of the form and included all information and materials, as necessary.

Declaration

The processing of requests may require research, site visits and/or considerable consultation, so owners are advised to involve the Trust as early as possible in order to minimize delays.

If you have any questions or comments before or after submitting your form, call the Easement Program Coordinator at 437-246-4326.

Directives concernant le formulaire de demande de modification - Ontario Heritage Trust

Menu

Directives concernant le formulaire de demande de modification

Fournissez l’ensemble des renseignements et des documents nécessaires à votre demande de modification. Il vous incombe de remplir ce formulaire de manière précise et complète afin d’éviter tout retard.

Avant d’entreprendre une activité ou une action susceptible de modifier un bien protégé par une servitude (par exemple sur les plans juridique, physique ou esthétique), les propriétaires sont tenus de consulter leur entente de servitude et de discuter de ces questions avec la coordonnatrice du Programme d’acquisition des servitudes de la Fiducie du patrimoine ontarien (ci-après « la Fiducie ») pour établir s’ils ont besoin de l’approbation de cette dernière. La Fiducie estime également que les approbations ou les approbations préalables dépendent de la précision des détails fournis par chaque propriétaire.

La coordonnatrice du Programme d’acquisition des servitudes est joignable au 437 246-4326.

Pour garantir une planification adéquate et de bonnes pratiques en matière de conservation, il convient de comprendre parfaitement l’impact des modifications proposées sur les éléments patrimoniaux d’un bien. Une demande d’approbation doit également indiquer les méthodes et les matériaux nécessaires à leur mise en œuvre.

La procédure d’approbation vise non pas à interdire les modifications mais plutôt à s’assurer qu’elles seront soigneusement réalisées dans le respect de principes de conservation rigoureux. Il s’agit de la finalité première de la servitude. Pour prendre ses décisions, la Fiducie s’appuie sur son mandat tel que stipulé dans la partie II de la Loi sur le patrimoine de l’Ontario, L.R.O. 1990, chapitre O.18, sur les huit principes directeurs en matière de conservation des biens historiques du ministère des Industries du patrimoine, du sport, du tourisme et de la culture, sur son manuel intitulé Conserver, un savoir-faire (de Mark Fram), sur les Normes et lignes directrices pour la conservation des lieux patrimoniaux au Canada, ainsi que sur des chartes, normes et principes internationaux.

Le formulaire de demande de modification vise à fournir les renseignements nécessaires au personnel de la Fiducie pour comprendre clairement les détails spécifiques à chaque proposition. Les demandeurs doivent documenter toute approche alternative possible qu’ils ont envisagée. À noter que les demandes de modification doivent être soumises le plus rapidement possible, de préférence aux premiers stades d’un projet.

Le rôle de la Fiducie est de fournir une aide et des conseils techniques en matière de conservation dans le respect des obligations légales de la servitude. Bien que chaque entente de servitude soit différente et que la Fiducie jouisse d’un délai de 60 jours pour répondre à une demande écrite complète à compter de sa réception, les réponses sont généralement plus rapides. Si une demande est incomplète ou que la Fiducie requiert des renseignements ou des documents supplémentaires pour l’interpréter, cette période de 60 jours débute à leur réception. Le relevé des modifications permettra également d’évaluer si un projet donné a été réalisé conformément à l’approbation écrite de la Fiducie.

Un rapport et un formulaire d’achèvement des modifications seront requis à la fin du projet. Ce formulaire permet à la Fiducie de garder une trace des travaux réalisés sur le site et fournit des renseignements archivistiques importants pour l’avenir. Par ailleurs, il permet au propriétaire de suivre plus facilement la procédure d’approbation.

Veuillez noter qu’un rapport ou un relevé des modifications – à compiler dès le début – sera requis à la fin du projet. Reportez-vous au formulaire d’achèvement des modifications et aux directives associées pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Si, après avoir obtenu une approbation écrite, des circonstances imprévues lors des travaux sur le site vous obligent à modifier la portée de votre projet, veuillez en informer la Fiducie.

L’objectif principal de la servitude est de conserver les éléments patrimoniaux d’un bien. La procédure de demande de modification constitue une étape de cette conservation. Certaines ententes de servitude permettent d’effectuer des réparations courantes sans l’approbation de la Fiducie. Dans ce cas, et afin de vous assurer que les travaux proposés relèvent de cette catégorie, consultez votre entente et discutez de ces questions avec la Fiducie avant de procéder.

Guide de demande

Renseignements concernant le propriétaire

Il s’agit de vérifier vos coordonnées en tant que propriétaire légal du bien. Fournissez une adresse électronique et un numéro de téléphone joignable en journée.

Agent agissant au nom du propriétaire (le cas échéant)

Si vous avez engagé ou envisagez d’engager un agent pour vous aider à réaliser votre projet, indiquez le nom de son entreprise, son nom et ses coordonnées.

Renseignements concernant le bien

Cette section porte sur le bien assujetti à la servitude et concerné par les travaux à réaliser. Fournissez son nom usuel (château Dundurn, domaine Ruthvenet ou hôtel de ville de Belleville, par exemple) et son adresse de voirie.

Classification du projet

Précisez la nature des travaux qui seront réalisés sur le bien en cochant toutes les options applicables.

Nouvelle construction – nouvel édifice, nouvelle structure ou ajout. La demande doit également inclure les matériaux à utiliser et tout dessin technique ou toute photographie concernant la nouvelle structure ou l’ajout.

Modifications – restauration, rénovation, réparation ou dérangement de tout élément patrimonial tel que décrit dans l’entente de servitude. La demande doit également inclure des dessins des modifications proposées et toute photographie de la ou des zones concernées par les modifications.

Réparations – travaux de réparation ou de restauration de l’intérieur ou de l’extérieur du bien et/ou autre réparation ou restauration physiques (plomberie, éclairage, finitions, etc.) touchant les éléments protégés par l’entente de servitude. Décrivez l’état actuel des éléments à réparer et incluez des photographies ou d’autres documents pertinents. En cas de restauration, des preuves de recherche doivent corroborer la proposition.

Aménagement paysager – modification physique du bien (paysage) telle que définie dans l’entente de servitude. Ces travaux comprennent la replantation, l’enlèvement, la destruction ou la coupe d’arbres, d’arbustes ou d’autres végétaux, autres que ceux indispensables pour garantir une bonne culture ou prévenir/traiter une maladie. Vous devez fournir des dessins des modifications proposées et indiquer les matériaux à utiliser. Le rapport d’un arboriste sera également requis en cas d’enlèvement d’arbres.

Illustrations ou panneaux – ajout ou modification d’illustrations ou de panneaux d’orientation particulière. Un dessin du ou des panneaux avec une description des matériaux de ces panneaux, les moyens de fixation et le ou les emplacements proposés doivent être inclus dans la demande.

Éclairage – installation, ajout ou modification de luminaires.

Démolition – destruction de tout élément patrimonial (tel que défini dans l’entente de servitude), de tout édifice ou de toute structure du bien. Veuillez inclure des photographies de la structure ou de l’élément à démolir et justifiez cet enlèvement en détail.

Mécanique/électrique – ajout, modification ou renouvellement d’un système mécanique/électrique, y compris CVCA. Un expert du domaine doit effectuer les calculs nécessaires pour s’assurer que ce système (modifié ou nouveau) n’aura aucun effet négatif sur les éléments patrimoniaux.

Conseils préalables concernant la demande

Si vous avez reçu des conseils de la part du personnel de la Fiducie concernant ce bien et toute proposition de modification, veuillez en préciser la nature. Si possible, indiquez le nom de la personne qui vous a aidé. Si vous n’avez pas encore contacté la Fiducie, nous vous recommandons de le faire avant de soumettre votre demande afin d’obtenir des renseignements et des conseils qui vous permettront de garantir une procédure plus efficace.

La coordonnatrice du Programme d’acquisition des servitudes est joignable par téléphone au 437 246-4326 ou par courriel à easements@heritagetrust.on.ca.

Détails du projet

Cochez les cases correspondant aux éléments concernés par les modifications et décrivez les travaux à réaliser.

Motif du projet

Expliquez le motif pour lequel vous souhaitez réaliser des travaux sur ce bien. Incluez une description de leur impact sur ses éléments patrimoniaux. En cas de proposition de travaux importants, un plan de conservation et/ou une étude d’impact sur le bien patrimonial peuvent être nécessaires avant que la Fiducie n’examine votre proposition. Veuillez consulter cette dernière pour obtenir de plus amples conseils ou renseignements.

Consultants et entrepreneurs

Si vous avez désigné d’autres parties pour vous aider à réaliser le projet proposé, veuillez le mentionner ici. Indiquez le nom de ces entreprises ainsi que le nom et les coordonnées des personnes-ressources principales concernées. Des curriculum vitæ et des listes de projets précédents peuvent être requis.

Calendrier proposé

Estimez les dates de début et de fin des travaux.

Documents complémentaires

Il convient d’inclure des documents complémentaires afin que la Fiducie comprenne parfaitement la nature des travaux et leur impact sur les éléments patrimoniaux. Des spécifications doivent être fournies, notamment sur les matériaux et les méthodes utilisés. Des dessins séparés montrant l’état actuel et la modification proposée du bien doivent également être fournis.

Plan du site – en cas de nouvelle construction, d’ajout ou de modification du paysage.

Plan d’étage – en cas de nouvelle construction, de modification ou de démolition à l’intérieur du bien.

Élévations – en cas d’aménagement paysager ou de nouvelle construction, de modification ou de démolition à l’extérieur et/ou à l’intérieur du bien.

Photographies – à inclure pour tous les projets, afin de montrer l’état actuel du bien et la zone des travaux.

Rapports sur l’état du bien – à inclure pour tous les projets, en particulier si des rénovations ou des réparations doivent être réalisées au niveau de l’enveloppe ou de la structure d’un édifice.

Remarque : si aucun dessin n’est disponible et qu’aucun consultant n’est impliqué, la Fiducie peut éventuellement fournir un modèle de plan/dessin du bien à des fins d’annotation.

Liste de vérification d’une demande

Utilisez la liste de vérification pour vous assurer que vous avez rempli toutes les sections du formulaire et indiqué l’ensemble des renseignements et des documents nécessaires, le cas échéant.

Déclaration

Dans la mesure où le traitement des demandes peut exiger des recherches, des visites du site et/ou de nombreuses consultations, les propriétaires sont invités à contacter la Fiducie le plus rapidement possible afin de réduire les délais.

En cas de questions ou de commentaires avant ou après la soumission d’un formulaire, la coordonnatrice du Programme d’acquisition des servitudes est joignable au 437 246-4326.